Review and ratings for the Nokia Lumia 800

Nokia Lumia 800
Nokia Lumia 800 3.8 5 16 16
If you're considering this phone base your decision on THIS review. My work requires me to carry one of every device, currently I have the Galaxy S IIx, iPhone 4S and the Nokia Lumia 800. I can honestly say that I am a raving fan of the Winodws Phone 7 OS because of it's performance, ease of use and integrated features. In my opinion the OS has a multitude of features out of the box that you would normally have to bolt on with any other device with an app. The Nokia Lumia 800 and 900 are incredibly stylish and built with quality design. Utilizing the WP OS only adds to this valuable, slick hardware. Battery life is average for any smartphone on the market, you may need to disable features and manage your settings while ensuring your apps are closed after use, just like any other smartphone. As far as the keyboard is concerned it's night and day better than an iPhone. Just wish we could get a swype feature on Windows Phone. May 8, 2012
Great Features just bad phone Love the features, not the phone. Find that the quailty of the phone call is not good, can't always hear the person I'm talking to. And the font on the text messaging is too small. On my old balck berry I could increase the size of the font so I wasn't always pulling out my glasses. As well the ring volume doesn't go high enough, if the phone is in my pocket I can't hear it. The vibration feature when the skin is on the phone is softened too much so you can hardly notice it at all June 14, 2012
Excellent Phone & Software Have had this phone now for approx. 3 weeks. Tried a BB9900 - 2x (problems both times ) and HTC S android phone. Looked at I-5, but after reading reviews, not impressed. (Thankyou Telus for your patience) Tough choice with so many phones on market now. Ended up trying the Nokia 800 2 x, the second time, I kept!! Simply the best in my opinion, easy to use, functional hardware & software, getting nearly 2 days on batt. life! Even using it many times through day. And fast, doesnt even slow down when using other programs. My final choice for a phone and should be yours!! Even though the 7.5 upgrades on the 800 and new 8.0 phones are out, and excellent choice and satisfying phone you wont regret getting. By the way, excellent pics as well. Nokia & Microsoft!! a great combo.. December 18, 2012
Long, but informative. I have had Android phones all my life. I’ve had HTC, LG, Samsung- you name it. When my phone got dropped in water and I had to get a new one I thought that I would try something new. Working as a TELUS sales Rep 90% of the people who get phones go with the iPhone, Samsung (and now the BB10). I wanted to try something new and was pleasantly surprised by what this phone could do. My initial reaction was that the screen is amazing. It’s incredibly clear, vibrant and easy to see. The colors are better than on any phone out there in my opinion. The phone will auto adjust its brightness according to the environment (which I think is part of the battery saving feature- which I do keep on at all times) and while it may be annoying to some, I have found that it isn’t an issue with the Lumia 800. Initially I had a little trouble figuring out where everything was on the phone, but this was partially due to the fact that I am so used to other operating systems on different phones. It was an adjustment for sure- but after a few weeks it was like second nature. For me personally I love that you can change the colors and customize the theme so much! My other favorite thing about it is the Facebook integration- it’s incredibly easy to see my notifications and such from Facebook (An excellent perk of this is that it filters the notifications automatically so you are not getting game/calendar/event requests up the wazoo) only the important ones. As far as apps and such go, no there isn’t nearly as many apps in the Marketplace for Windows than let’s say iPhone or Android, but that’s generally a given. I was disappointed when I found out that there wasn’t Instagram- but there are other WAY better alternatives, although less “Main Stream”. My top pics for App’s to get are Fantasia Painter (free and paid) - EXCELLENT for photo editing/manipulating- 10x’s better than instagram & works just the same Fhotoroom (free) - Fun picture editing app iLOL’d (free) – hilarious pictures from all over the web updated daily Backgrounds (free) – tons of artsy backgrounds tailored to fit the size of your lock screen so you don’t have to compromise an image to make it fit. Wiztiles (free & paid – paid version is better)- hands down my favorite app so far. You can make your own “tiles” out of pictures that you have saved in your phone (goes hand in hand with the Backgrounds app as all images fit perfectly). So you can fancify your main screen to look pretty! For games- ChainReaction, Duck hunt, Monster Stack, Draw Something etc. The only drawback for me for this phone is in my opinion is the process to transfer contacts or content from one handset to another. It’s not the same as an iPhone where everything is literally right in front of you- it is difficult I find, but you generally don’t have to this hardly ever. Loading and transferring content off and onto an existing device is simple. Battery life is wonderful for me, some may find that 8-10hrs is not enough, but in all honestly that is the reality with most phones. As far as calling, I have not had issues with being able to hear and speaker phone I find is better on the Nokia than even the S III. Protection wise, I have dropped it MANY times and all I can show for it is a couple dings and scratches and the gorilla glass doesn’t have any scratches, but I also bought a WRAPSOL for the screen. The camera isn’t as good as some phones, but it is NOT bad. There are many aspects of this phone that appeal to me- all in all it is a good phone. February 8, 2013
Overall a great experience As with all phones there is always something that could be improved upon. For this phone: a better layout for alarms, allowing greater volume control when calling (sometimes the audio is too quiet and speakerphone must be used). But everything else is great! The screen is phenomenal giving the richest colors and deepest blacks I've ever seen on a phone and screens in general for that matter, I sometimes open up my phone and think: "this screen is gorgeous, what did I need my phone for again?" It could use more pixels but having less pixels isn't a deal breaker. Sometimes I just run my fingers over the jet black screen just because the screen is so nice and smooth and the curvature is beautiful. The speed of the phone is incredible for being a single core processor, and battery life relative to other smart phones is amazing (~40 hours on regular use). I didn't know if I'd like the windows environment, but it is extremely user friendly and perhaps the easiest, most functional system for phones ever created (though can still be improved). The facebook integration is seamless (though it may take a few minutes to recognize new contacts) and very useful. Thank you Nokia for a beautiful phone that works elegantly. October 28, 2012
Pretty good This phone is defiantly a great phone, Design is amazing camera is very good. The display, battery and the lack of apps is a down however still is an amazing phone. If it had a bigger screen and a front camera then i would defiantly recommend it June 10, 2012
Awesome smartphone! I am so happy I have discovered this smart phone, I was starting to lose faith in cell phone manufactures because of lack of quality or lack of support for tech issues. Since I have been using the Nokia 800 I have found out that all the apps I have downloaded are free and work!!! This phone is amazing and I am gonna buy another for my daughter! July 30, 2012
this product is really cool I like this phone alot, I only wish It was easier to text on and that the battery lasted way longer because i love the games on this phone but the fact that the phone doesn't even last a whole day which is stupid cause the phone is based for hd Xbox gaming. Battery updates would be great and better keys for texting. April 27, 2012
2 Next>>